New York Teacher Speaks Out, “I have the greatest job; I am a teacher.”

Teachers of Conscience

I have the greatest job on earth; I’m a teacher. This year, I began my 22nd year at the Ichabod Crane Central School District, where I have taught grades 2, 5, and 6. I love my students and I am very passionate about teaching. I also stay involved with educational shifts and new strategies. I try to exemplify this in the leadership roles I assume as Grade Level Chair, English/Language Arts Liaison, and Middle School Student Mentoring Coordinator. I have always thought of myself as somewhat “old-school” because I respect the chain of command, respect my elders, and consider myself patriotic. I am a rule follower.

For these reasons, I have complied enthusiastically with the implementation of the Common Core Learning Standards and all of the instructional shifts, professional development, and student testing required due to the adoption of the CCLS. Instrumental in our school district’s adoption of a…

View original post 937 more words

Leave a Reply

